A Thousand splendid suns

A Thousand splendid suns, written by the brilliant Khaled Hosseini, takes place in Afghanistan, telling the story of two women. Mariam, an unwanted illegitimate daughter, and Laila a smart, beautiful, young girl who is the daughter of a teacher.  The path of these women cross in what will seem like an unusual way to most readers, but war, the hunger for survival, the search for freedom, family and friendship brings both of Mariam and Laila close together. A Thousand splendid suns also highlights the love story between Laila and Tariq, a boy who Laila grew up with and they eventually become lovers. The love between Laila and Tariq is so strong that after a decade of being separated, they were able to fall in love again as if it was like the first time. After my first time reading this story about two years ago, I completely fell in love with this story, and read the book every chance I get. I also recommend it to all of my friends, and I would definitely encourage all of you guys reading to go out and get this book. I have come up with ten of my favorite quotes from A Thousand splendid suns:

1. “Like a compass needle that points North, a mans accusing finger  always finds a women”

2.  ” A society has no chance of success if its women are uneducated”

3. “A man’s heart is a wretched, wretched thing.  It isn’t like a mother’s womb.  It won’t bleed. It won’t stretch to make room for you.”

4.” Marriage can wait, education cannot.”

5.“…of all the hardships a person had to face none was more punishing than the simple act of waiting.”

6.  Tariq tucked the gun into the waist of his denims. Then he said a thing both lovely and terrible. “For you,” he said. “I’d kill with it for you, Laila.”

7. ” yet love can move people to act in unexpected ways and move them to overcome the most daunting obstacles with startling heroism”

8. “A stubborn ass needs a stubborn driver”

9. “You see, some things I can teach you. Some you learn from books. But there are things that, well, you have to see and feel.”

10.“One could not count the moons that shimmer on her roofs,or the thousand splendid suns that hide behind her walls.”

I love this book so much that I have decided to name my daughter (if I have one) after Tariq’s and Laila’s daughter Aziza. If you guy’s have any quotes from A thousand splendid suns feel free to share, if you have not read this book you need to read it ASAP! and as always

Like, comment , and follow my blog ❤

12 thoughts on “A Thousand splendid suns

  1. I loved this book! Khaled Hosseini has this uncanny ability to make me cry throughout his books. Did you read The Kite Runner as well? They were so amazing. I’ve been meaning to re-read A Thousand Splendid Suns for awhile (I’m a big re-reader!) and I think this post inspired me to put it on my winter reading list 🙂

    Thanks for sharing, as always!

    • OH my gosh me too, I cried during this book its soooo good. I have also read the kite runner, that also made me cried too. But I heard a rumor that their is going to be a movie of a thousand splendid suns coming in 2013 im not sure but I hope that this does happen.

  2. Pingback: Books and their movies | Belletristic Book Babes

  3. Yes! This is one of my all time favorite books. It was recommended by someone from my book club and once I started reading it, I could not put it down. The struggles that both women faced were terrible but written so incredibly well. I could go on and on about how much I love this book because I’m such a book nerd but I will not. Great choice. I think I shall follow you now just for that.

  4. Thank you so much for reblogging my post and for introducing me to your blog. I’m going to look around a little.
    Lillian
    Lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

